Road to Eagle Scout & Important Links

The Eagle Scout Rank: the highest award in Boy Scouting, it has been awarded to young men for over 100 years. Since 1912, around 4 percent of men who were Boy Scouts have earned this award. More than 2 million young men have earned the rank of Eagle Scout since it was first awarded.


Over the years, requirements for the Eagle Scout Award have changed to meet the needs of the era; however, certain elements of the program have remained true from the original Eagle Scout requirements. A boy must demonstrate citizenship and caring for his community and others, leadership qualities, and outdoor skills that show his self-sufficiency and ability to overcome obstacles. Today, a boy must earn 21 merit badges, 14 of which are required: First Aid, Camping, Citizenship in the Community, Citizenship in the Nation, Citizenship in the World, Personal Management, Personal Fitness, Swimming or Hiking or Cycling, Communications, Family Life, Emergency Preparedness or Lifesaving, Cooking, Environmental Science, and Citizenship in Society.

Beyond the merit badges, a candidate must also plan and carry out a service project to benefit the community. In addition, he must have held a troop leadership position during his Scouting tenure. Finally,the Eagle Scout candidate undergoes a rigorous board of review in which his district, council, and troop leaders evaluate his attitude and practice of the ideals of Scouting. Achieving the rank of Eagle Scout must happen before a boy’s 18th birthday.

Important Eagle Rank Downloads Below & Advancement Informational Readings:

Eagle Scout Application for youth who completed requirements ON OR AFTER July 1, 2022

BSA Age Guidelines for Tool Use and Work at Elevations 680-028

Guide to Safe Scouting 34416

The Sweet Sixteen of BSA Safety 512-025_WB

2019 BSA Guide to Advancement #33088

(2019) Application for Alternative Eagle Rank Merit Badges 512-730

(2019) Eagle Coach Application 512-069

To Learn more about the Eagle Scout Rank Click here to read “Eagle Scouts, Merit Beyond the Badge”

To discover more about what it means to be an Eagle Scout,  Click Below
NESA – National Eagle Scout Association

To earn the Eagle Scout Rank, a Boy Scout must:

Progress through the ranks in the following order:

Second Class
First Class

Earn 21 merit badges, 14 required. 


Serve six months in a troop leadership position.

Plan, develop, and give leadership to a service project for any religious organization or any school or community.

Take part in a Scoutmaster conference.

Successfully complete an Eagle Scout Board of Review.